Fun, Family, and Farkle

Happy Monday lovelies!

A little background information before we dive right into the weekend. This weekend was my husband’s grandpa’s 90th birthday. My husband comes from a bigger sized family. He is one of 15 grandkids. His whole family tries to get together maybe once or twice a year so you can image the craziness and fun I had this weekend. It started in the hotel they rented for everyone to the Hand’s On Children Museum.

Saturday Afternoon:

In case I haven’t said this before but my husband is Jewish.

Saturday, we took a tour of the Christmas Tree Farm that his family owns. Yes, a Jewish family owns a Christmas tree farm. In the 7 years I’ve been with my husband I was amazed at how this was the first time I’ve ever seen the farm. Before we left, I placed a reserved sign on the tree we are getting this year.

After the tour we headed back to the hotel to enjoy the Univ. of Washington game and Panda Express. It was great to see some cousins that we haven’t seen since our wedding (about 2 years ago).

Saturday Evening:

We held a Texas Hold’em tournament. Not everyone was into poker (myself included) so we played a different game; Farkle. Farkle is a dice game where the math doesn’t make sense. If you would like to learn how to play, please let me know below.

The best part about the whole evening (and the weekend) was nearly everyone went completely “unplugged.” We got to spend time together without too many distractions; i.e phones, texting, facebook, etc.

Sunday morning/Afternoon:

Sunday was our day. Some got up early to watch the Seahawks while others just relaxed.  After the game, my husband and I walked to the Farmer’s Market next door. I’ve never really been to a farmer’s market and now I want to go to them all the time.

After the family had a quick lunch, took family pictures and then headed off set up for the actual party.

Sunday Evening aka Party Time:

The children decided for their dad’s 90th birthday party why not bring out his inner child. How? They rented out a hands on children museum completed with slides, water toys, and learning. It was a fun time had by all 200 guests.

The best moment was seeing Grandpa going head first down the slide.

The second best, my husband getting stuck in the same slide.

Here is the extended family!

 How was your weekend?

One thought on “Fun, Family, and Farkle

Leave a Reply

