(Auto) Book Review: City of Ashes

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments, #2)Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go—especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil—and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings—and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?


My Thoughts:

Since I spend most of my time in the car, I figured out that I could listen to books while driving. That is where audile comes in. I’ve been able to get through more books including this one. I like City of Bones so I thought I would give the second one a try. Honestly, I don’t really like it. Clary is such a selfish and suborn character. There were a few times that I was screaming at her to get her sh*t figured out. Maybe if she would just listen then everything will work out. The story line seemed to drag on and on. I’m also over the love triangle between Clary, Simon and Jace. The only thing that made this book enjoyable was Magus. Since the author left the book on a cliff hanger. I’m in the process of listening to the third book. Darn you, Cassandra Clare.

Audible Review: I liked the narrator. I could really tell the difference between the characters’ voices. Even through the book itself was kind of boring, the narrator really kept me engaged in the story. 


 Book Information:

Written by: Cassandra Clare

Narrated by: Natalie Moore

Length: 12 hours and 20 minutes

Linking up with Heather

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “(Auto) Book Review: City of Ashes

  1. I definitely have my ups and downs with these books. At times I feel a little over them, but then each ends with a cliffhanger and you just HAVE to keep reading. I will say each book does get better and better, and I loved the second series (The Infernal Devices) even better then the Mortal Instruments. I will say that once you finished the third book, I’d start reading them in publication order and go back and forth between the first two series.

Leave a Reply

