ABCs of the Holidays Part 1

ABCs

I saw a couple of other bloggers (Kelly and Laura) do this so that I thought I would join in. December is one of my favorite times of the year so over the next couple of days I’m going to be sharing my ABCs of the holiday season.

A is for Albums.

Some of the best sounds of the holidays are the different songs. It’s not officially the holiday season until NSYNC’s Christmas Album is blasting on high.  

B is for Boxes.

Boxes are so much harder to come around during the holidays, especially in my house.

C is for Christmas.

Christmas is one of my favorite holidays.

D is for Dreidels.

A dreidel is a four sided top with Hebrew letters on them. It’s a popular game played by children during Hanukkah. Dreidels are one of the many symbols of Hanukkah.

E is for Elves.

Without elves, how would Santa know who’s been naughty or who’s been nice? At least that is what I believe.

F is for Family.

The holidays are about spending time with your family. Sometimes it’s the only time of the year we see some of our family. Christmas is more then just presents, it about the lasting memories you make with your family.   

G is for Gelt.

Gelt is chocolate money. Since I have yet to find some white chocolate gelt, I tend to use mine to play dreidel with.

H is for Hanukkah.

Hanukkah is eight nights of crazy fun.

I is for Icicles.

Icicle lights are the best lights to look at. They may be simple and plain but they add so much to your overall presentation.

J is for Jingle Bells.

The sound that signals that the holidays are here is the sound of the jingle bells outside department stores. Those little bells are the sweetest sound to my ears.

K is for Keeping Secrets.

My family is the worst at keeping secrets expect when it comes to the holidays. It’s like the holidays show up and we don’t want to tell each other anything.

L is for Lights.

We may not have a Christmas tree in the house but we have lights everywhere. Lights are the best part of either holiday. If my husband would let me, I would keep our lights up every year.

M is for Menorah.

A menorah is the symbol of Hanukah. During the nights of Hanukah, we light one candle each night. It’s so peaceful to sit around by the light of the menorah candles and spend the time together.

 

One thought on “ABCs of the Holidays Part 1

  1. Pingback: ABCs of the Holidays Part 2 | Innerworkings of the Female Mind

Leave a Reply

