Part Time Cowboy || Guest Post

Displaying PartTimeCowboyTourBanner.png

Today’s post is sponsored by Xpresso Book Tours


Part Time Cowboy by Maisey Yates 
(Copper Ridge #1) 
Published by: Harlequin
Publication date: March 31st 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance

Displaying PTCCover.jpg

A one-time bad girl comes home to small-town Oregon in the first in a sexy, heartfelt new series from USA TODAY bestselling author Maisey Yates…

Sadie Miller isn’t expecting any welcome-home parades on her return to Copper Ridge. Least of all from parttime rancher, full-time lawman Eli Garrett. The straight-laced, impossibly hot deputy sheriff glares at her like she’s the same teenage hoodlum who fled town ten years ago. But running from her demons has brought Sadie full circle, ready to make a commitment at last. Not to a man, but to a B and B. On Garrett land. Okay, so her plan has a tiny flaw…

Eli works too hard to let a blonde ball of trouble mess up his town. But keeping an eye on Sadie makes it tough to keep his hands off her. And if she’s so wrong for him, why does being with her feel so right?

Purchase at Amazon or B&N


Guest Post by author Maisey Yate
Her Writing Process:
People often ask about my process, and I have a hard time knowing exactly how to answer the questions. For me, process is kind of an ever evolving thing. Each and every book is different, each set of characters is different, and they all have different requirements. 
With some books, I dive straight in and just see where the jumping off point takes me. With others, I find I need to do a little bit more pre-work. Some I map out on index cards, others I work out with lists, or crazy scrawls on Post-it notes. 
Part Time Cowboy got the chalkboard treatment. I drew some sketches, some character outlines, and some relevant facts about side characters on a chalkboard that sits on my desk so that any quick info I might need (how old my hero was when his mother left, that sort of thing) was handy. 
I also created a series bible. This is just a file on my computer that contains information (age, hair color, eye color, family relationships) about every character that has ever walked on screen, or even been mentioned in a Copper Ridge book. It also has a lot of photos of houses, places I’m using as inspiration, so that descriptions in the different books are consistent. I did most of the writing for the book in my at-home office, which is really where I do the bulk of my work for all of my books. I’m very fortunate to have a nice, private space to call my own. I have some inspiration pictures, and a whole lot of knickknacks, cork boards and chalkboards that I use to inspire me whenever I need it!
I usually buy a special scented candle for each book, and burn it while I write. I also make use of pinterest boards and playlists. That first day of ‘working on a book’ is usually really buying my new candle at Target, choosing music and playing with pretty pictures to get myself excited about the story. I like to have good sights, good smells and good sounds all around me to help establish the right mood, both for the book and myself.
After I finished the full draft for Part Time Cowboy, I printed it out. I always find that stage really satisfying. You get a full look at all the work you’ve done. An endless scroll of text on a computer screen doesn’t give you quite feel for all you’ve accomplished in the same way a gigantic stack of papers does.
Then I read through, leaving myself very encouraging notes, as you can see pictured here. After inputting all the changes, I was ready to send it off to my editor. That was how this particular book came to be (except I left out the part about eating a ton of candy and whining endlessly to my critique partner about how HARD my heroine was to figure out). Each book is different, and that’s part of the fun!

Author’s Bio

Displaying Yates.jpg

USA Today Bestselling author Maisey Yates lives in rural Oregon with her three children and her husband, whose chiseled jaw and arresting features continue to make her swoon. She feels the epic trek she takes several times a day from her office to her coffee maker is a true example of her pioneer spirit.

In 2009, at the age of twenty-three Maisey sold her first book. Since then it’s been a whirlwind of sexy alpha males and happily ever afters, and she wouldn’t have it any other way. Maisey divides her writing time between dark, passionate category romances set just about everywhere on earth and light sexy contemporary romances set practically in her back yard. She believes that she clearly has the best job in the world.

Links

Website * Goodreads * Facebook * Twitter


 

 

Leave a Reply

